|
|
|
date: Wed, 13 May 2009 07:18:56 +0100,
group: alt.uk.virgin-net.oldbies
back
Re: Beware Scam
Dave (Sgt. Pepper) wrote:
> Even Virgin Media billing is being targeted by the scammers now.
> Appeared in my emails today .....
>
>
>
> "Dear Customer,
> This e-mail has been sent to you by Virgin Media to inform you that we
> were unable to process your most recent payment of bill. This might be
> due to either of the following reasons:
>
> 1. A recent change in your personal information. (eg: billing address,
> phone)
> 2. Submitting incorrect information during bill payment process.
>
> Due to this, to ensure that your service is not interrupted, we request
> you to confirm and update your billing information today by clicking
> here. [links to
> beatruedi.ch/RShop/js/tinymce/utils/CVS/vi/virginmedia.com/customers/emailgateway.php/account/sign-in.php/webmail/udpate-infos-Virgin-media/]
>
>
> If you have already confirmed your billing information then please
> disregard this message as we are processing the changes you have made.
>
> Regards,
> Virgin Media
> Billing Department
>
> Thanks for your co-operation.
>
>
> -------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> ? 2009 Virgin Media. All Rights Reserved.Virgin Media "
I've just had one of these and even my email programme flagged it up as
junk! It linked to
harmonique-voetreflex.nl/components/com/mysso.virginmedia.com/cgi/billing/requestAssertion.action/national.virginmedia.com/start/
in this instance. Did you bother reporting yours to Virgin, not worth
the bother I suppose.
Alec (Not Alex, Alick or any other variation)
date: Wed, 13 May 2009 07:18:56 +0100
author: unknown
|
Re: Beware Scam
wrote in message
news:pDtOl.33066$i%2.17699@newsfe15.ams2...
> Dave (Sgt. Pepper) wrote:
>> Even Virgin Media billing is being targeted by the scammers now.
>> Appeared in my emails today .....
>>
>>
>>
>> "Dear Customer,
>> This e-mail has been sent to you by Virgin Media to inform you that we
>> were unable to process your most recent payment of bill. This might be
>> due to either of the following reasons:
>>
>> 1. A recent change in your personal information. (eg: billing address,
>> phone)
>> 2. Submitting incorrect information during bill payment process.
>>
>> Due to this, to ensure that your service is not interrupted, we request
>> you to confirm and update your billing information today by clicking
>> here. [links to
>> beatruedi.ch/RShop/js/tinymce/utils/CVS/vi/virginmedia.com/customers/emailgateway.php/account/sign-in.php/webmail/udpate-infos-Virgin-media/]
>> If you have already confirmed your billing information then please
>> disregard this message as we are processing the changes you have made.
>>
>> Regards,
>> Virgin Media
>> Billing Department
>>
>> Thanks for your co-operation.
>>
>>
>> -------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>
>> ? 2009 Virgin Media. All Rights Reserved.Virgin Media "
>
> I've just had one of these and even my email programme flagged it up as
> junk! It linked to
> harmonique-voetreflex.nl/components/com/mysso.virginmedia.com/cgi/billing/requestAssertion.action/national.virginmedia.com/start/
> in this instance. Did you bother reporting yours to Virgin, not worth the
> bother I suppose.
>
> Alec (Not Alex, Alick or any other variation)
No I didn't bother to report it Alec, I doubt there's anything they can do
to prevent it. These scams just keep popping up from different sources.
The only defence is to stay alert and vet your incoming carefully. I use
Mailwasher to do that so I see any false links immediately and can delete
the crap without it ever getting near to my reader.
--
Dave (Sgt. Pepper) Epsom, England
My photo galleries at http://www.pbase.com/davecq
"I will not tolerate intolerance ... Doh!!"
date: Wed, 13 May 2009 09:49:38 +0100
author: Dave \(Sgt. Pepper\)
|
|
|